Italy – A Few Guidelines for Clothing

This post is specifically geared towards visitors in late August/early September. There are some helpful tips that are across the board though.

If there is one notable rule for what to bring to Italy, please take note of this one. There are many famous historical religious sites that have dress codes. If you want to get in, you need to wear the appropriate clothing. Sometimes there are options to buy something that will cover you, but this is not always the case. They require clothing to come down to your knees or cover your knees. They also require that your shoulders are covered. This has nothing to do with putting a damper on your personal style. These buildings we go to see as tourist attractions are often still used for their original religious purposes. Make it easy on yourself as well as the people just doing their job at the entrance, and wear the right clothes while not throwing a fit. This dress code goes everyone, not just women.

It was very hot on our trek across northern Italy (Milan, Bologna, Venice, Florence, Cinque Terre, & Rome). I would suggest bringing one to two pairs of shorts. There were not many people wearing super short shorts, so I would recommend leaving them at home. It is definitely a sure fire way to stand out if that’s your thing. I brought some of the longer shorts that I own, (about mid-thigh) and I’m very pleased that I did. If skirts are more your thing, then I say go for it. Bring a few different skirts instead of shorts.

Dresses are an easy outfit to wear for day or night activities. They are easy to pack, and they are easy to wear a couple different times with some new accessories for a new look. You look stylish while also not immediately sticking out as a tourist. Grab an Italian silk scarf along your journey as a simple yet stylish accessory.

I would bring a good pair of walking shoes along with some comfortable sandals. My favorite sandals to bring on any trip are my Sanuk Yoga Sling 2 sandals. They are comfortable, stylish, hard to mess up, and they go with pretty much any outfit. I saw some women in heels, and I was thankful I left mine at home each time. You will likely be doing A-L-O-T of walking in Italy. (We walked 5-6 miles on average EACH day!!!) Aside from being uncomfortable, the streets/sidewalks in Italy are not ideal for hiking in heels.

I brought some jumpers/rompers, but it was just too hot to be in a full-length one while I was there. I think towards the end of September it would have been fine. I wore one that was more of a capri-style on bottom which worked just fine.

I would bring a few different stylish tops. These can be a mix of tank tops, t-shirts, and anything in between. I wouldn’t bring long-sleeves for this particular season. If you’re into kimonos/stylish cover up pieces, then you can bring some plain shirts to wear with these. You can also pair these with some of your dresses to make for a brand new outfit.

I brought a pair of jeans. I think this is a smart move because you never know if it’ll get a little cooler at night. These are easy to pair with one of your stylish tops mentioned above. I did not end up wearing them, but it was a nice item to have.

Don’t forget socks and underwear.

If you plan to hit a beach in Italy, bring a swimsuit and a beach towel. You can usually find a spot to grab a beach towel if you have forgotten one.

It can and will rain in Italy at the beginning of September. I would suggest bringing a poncho just in case. It is much easier to come prepared than to start scrambling in the rain.

I would pack lighter than heavier for Italy. (I do for any international trip.) There are a lot of stairs to climb, and like I mentioned before, the streets can be difficult. I saw plenty of unhappy people lugging around large suitcases. There are tons of places to wash your clothes if you want to pack extra light. I was on vacation for about fifteen days, and I brought a medium sized duffel bag (fit carry-on baggage limitations barely) that I could carry on my back. I still think I overpacked for the trip a little bit. I squeezed in two purses, three silk scarves, and a beach towel into my bag for the trip home. I also had a small (maybe 7in x 5in x 12in) anti-theft backback that I carried around instead of a purse. Travelon is a good anti-theft brand.

The choice is ultimately up to you, but I hope that I could help you with some ideas for your trip. Have fun and always be safe when travelling. Let me know if any of these tips helped you in the comments.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.